Why Honduras?


Kadie Koeneman

Honduras.Kadie 050

A common question that I have been asked recently is, why Honduras? My immediate thought was, well that’s an easy question but as I tried to put my reasons into words I found it difficult. It is hard to show someone with words the beauty, humility, poverty, and grace that I have seen in the people and country of Honduras. Even so, I am going to do my best to attempt to explain where it all began.

My passion for Honduras began in high school when I had the opportunity to travel with my youth group at Covenant Presbyterian Church to Montana de Luz (MDL) for a week. Montana de Luz means ‘mountain of light’ and could not be a more fitting name for this place that provides a home for HIV/AIDS children whose parents have passed away or are too sick to take care of them. MDL began as…

View original post 303 more words

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

